> >
(Ref. FQM-195)
June 2024
<- ->
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Group data


The Research Group "Coordination Chemistry and Structural Analysis" was formally created in November 1988, at the moment when the Regional Government of Andalusia started the research founding system granting funds to the research groups as a function of their past scientific production instead of doing it on the projected research in the future. This group has existed since them till now and has been granted financial support in every call for grants issued by the Regional Government of Andalusia. The obtained financial support has been, in all cases, one of the highest among all existing groups in the University of Granada and even among all research groups of Andalusia. The Group has been always awarded with high scores in the evaluations of its scientific production.

The Group was founded around a four circle single crystal diffractometer physically placed at the Department of Mineralogy and Petrology of the University of Granada, property of the Centre of Scientific Instrumentation. Ten persons of the Departments of Mineralogy and Petrology and Inorganic Chemistry were the founders of the Group, that was established with Professor Manuel Rodríguez Gallego as its first Chairman. At that moment, the ongoing research lines were the study of mineral structures, the coordination chemistry of biologically interesting ligands and the magnetostructural correlation in coordination compounds, research lines that still continue nowadays. As time went by, many persons have joined the Group, usually as holders of research grants that have elaborated their pHD Thesis and that have eventually reached different teaching and researching positions, some of them becoming permanent University Professors. This progress has been accompanied in some cases with the creation of new research lines and with the formation of the "subgroups" mentioned in the presentation section. The study of Metallorganic Macrocycles (since ~1999) and the Encapsulated Metal Nanoparticles (from ~2003 to the end of 2010 when a new Research Group was created with this line) are the most outstanding examples. The work developed by the Group members in the Department of Mineralogy and Petrology about biomineralizer activity of microorganisms (since ~2000) is also worthwhile mentioning.

The retirement of Professor Manuel Rodríguez Gallego in 2005 placed the "centre of gravity" of the Group more clearly in the Department of Inorganic Chemistry, the position of Group Chairman being assumed by Professor Juan Manuel Salas Peregrín, who has occupied it until 2009, when Professor Miguel Quirós Olozábal assumed this responsibility till now. This position implies the bureaucratic, economic and informatical management of the Group but does not imply the supervision of global research tasks, which are developed by each subgroup in a fully independent way.

It may be noted that all persons that have started their research inside the Group have kept their relationship with it even if, in some cases, they may have moved to other research centres. At the end of 2010, the first important split of the Group took place, when the persons working on metallic nanoparticles quit creating a new research group, the reason of this separation being the evolution of the research work of this subgroup, which had become too different to the research made by the rest of the Group members. The Group is formed nowadays (2011) by eigthteen doctoral and five predoctoral researchers.


Desarrollado por: